logo for southwest texas pca aca Popular Culture and
American Culture Associations
home about us areas registration travel information conference program awards contact us
If it is not popular, then it is not culture

"" Links

  "" Graduate Student Awards

Heldrich-Dvorak Fellowship

Rollins Book Award

Student Award Winners







The deadline for awards is January 10, 2009. Click on the awards listed below for more information about submissions.

Note: Graduate students may submit to one award. In addition, those submitting for awards must be registered to attend the conference and must present the paper at the conference to receive an award, if chosen. All who submit to our awards should plan to attend the Graduate Student Awards Ceremony where awards will be presented. Winners will not be pre-notified. We take great pride in presenting these awards and expect all those submitting to our awards to be present at the ceremony.

Research and exploration is an ongoing process for undergraduate and graduate students. The need to research unexplored areas and to provide a means by which the results of this research can be made accessible to the learned and novice will never cease. The chapters of the Southwest/Texas PCA/ACA are two mediums by which these research findings can be shared. Both associations are regional affiliates of the national chapters of the Popular Culture and American Culture Associations.

Since 1979, the regional associations of the Southwest/Texas PCA/ACA have met annually, in either Oklahoma, Texas, or New Mexico to share and collect research findings and to promote participation by professors and graduate students. The regional associations invite scholars of literature, arts and architecture, cultural geography and anthropology, and film and television to share their perspectives on American life in the Southwest. Professors and students have been encouraged to take their presentations/papers to the national meetings. In an effort to encourage graduate student participation and to feature excellent works by young scholars, the associations award the following prizes.

Click on each award for its description and submission details:

ABQ Convention and Visitors Bureau Award Diana Cox Award
Jerry Bradley Award Kenneth Davis Award
Phyllis Bridges Award Euro Pop Award
Charles Redd Center Award Peter C. Rollins Award
Lawrence Clayton Award Michael K. Schoenecke Award

Click here for a printer-friendly version of all the awards.

Also don't forget to apply for the Heldrich-Dvorak Fellowships that can defray some of the travel costs for graduate students.


Home | About Us | Areas | Registration | Travel | Program | Awards | Contact

© Southwest/Texas PCA/ACA 2003
Last updated: 2006

For website problems or suggestions,
please email swtexaspcawebmaster@yahoo.com.