logo for southwest texas pca aca Popular Culture and
American Culture Associations
home about us areas registration travel information conference program awards contact us
If it is not popular, then it is not culture.
  "" 2008 Graduate Student Award Winners

Listed below are the graduate students who won awards for their outstanding conference papers.

Submission information for each category

Michael K. Schoenecke Award for American Culture
Melissa Elston, University of Texas of the Permian Basin
“Xerxes in Drag: Post-9/11 Marginalization and (Mis) Identification in 300

Phyllis Bridges Graduate Award for Biography
Deborah Wilson, Southern Illinois University
“Kennedy and Latin Americans: A Special Relationship?”

Jerry Bradley Award for Creative Writing
Annie Christain, University of South Dakota
“Prequel to Genesis and the Missing Second Book: Coral Castel” and “All the Host of Them”

Diana Cox Award for Images of Women
Suzanne Bouclin, McGill University
“Dialogical Relationships between Film and Law: Women in Prison Films”

Peter C. Rollins Award for Best Graduate Paper on Popular Culture (Co-Winners)
David Boyles, Arizona State University
“Where Everybody Knows His Name: Shakespearean Citation, Race and Cultural Memory on Cheers

Andrew Daigle, University of Colorado, Boulder
“Mixtapes: Juxtaposing Fragmented Records for a Hybrid Hip Hop Culture”

The Charles Redd Center Award for Western Studies
Matthew Nelson, University of New Mexico
“Navajo Area Indian Health Service: Balancing Wellness and Tradition”

Lawrence Clayton Award for Texas Culture
Erik Anderson, Brown University
“Nature's Captive: The Wild People Narratives of Jackson County, Texas as Captivity Narratives”

Euro Pop Award  [Sponsored by Jack Hutchens]
Edwige Tamalet Talbayev, University of California, San Diego
“An invincible Czech horde’: Moravian folklore, Modernity, Resurgences”

Kenneth Davis Folklore Award
Jacquilyn Weeks, University of Notre Dame
“The North Wind of the Fairy Stories Ringing in My  Ears”: Fairy Tales in the Poetry of Anne Sexton and Susan Howe”

Other Winners:  2007  |  2006  |  2005  |  2004  |  2003


Home | About Us | Areas | Registration | Travel | Program | Awards | Contact

© Southwest/Texas PCA/ACA 2003
Last updated: 2006

For website problems or suggestions,
please email swtexaspcawebmaster@yahoo.com.