logo for southwest texas pca aca Popular Culture and
American Culture Associations
home about us areas registration travel information conference program awards contact us
If it is not popular, then it is not culture.
  "" 2006 Graduate Student Award Winners

Listed below are the graduate students who won awards for their outstanding conference papers.

Submission information for each category

Peter C. Rollins Award for Popular Culture
Angela Frye Keaton, University of Tennessee-Knoxville, “Backyard Desperadoes: American Attitudes: Concerning Children and Toy Guns in the Atomic Age”

The Charles Redd Center Award for Western Studies
Ian Bickford, The Graduate Center of the City of New York University, “The Wrong Tools: Ondaatje's Absenteeism from Billy (the Kid) to Anil (the Ghost)”

Albuquerque Convention and Visitors Bureau Award for Southwestern Culture
Kristina Jacobsen, Columbia University, “Johnny Horton's Sweethearts: Skip Dance Songs, Honky Tonk Music, and Cultural Nostalgia in 1950”

Diana Cox Award for Images of Women in Popular Culture
Cynthia Headley, California State University San Marcos, “Slaying the Deficit in Disability”

Phyllis Bridges Award for Biography Studies
Crystal M. Kurzen, The University of Texas at Austin, “Autobiographical Relationships: The Trope of Marriage in Imaginary Parents by Sheila Ortiz Taylor and Sandra Ortiz Taylor”

Mike K. Shoenecke Award for American Culture
(Two winners)
Katie Egging, University of Kansas, “The Ritual of Brat Camp”
Michelle Stewart, University of California-Davis, “From CSI to Amber Alert Signs: The Crime Culture in Dialogue and Performance”

Kenneth Davis Award for Folklore Studies
Jessie L. Adolph, University of Missouri-Columbia, “Black Sermon Discourse in the Black Arts Movement Poetry”

Jerry Bradley Award for Creative Writing
Samuel Snoek-Brown, University of North Texas, “Barefoot in the Guadalupe”

Other Winners:  2008  |  2007  |  2005  |  2004  |  2003


Home | About Us | Areas | Registration | Travel | Program | Awards | Contact

© Southwest/Texas PCA/ACA 2003
Last updated: 2006

For website problems or suggestions,
please email swtexaspcawebmaster@yahoo.com.