"" 2008 Area Chairs ""

NOTE: The 2009 Area Chairs will be confirmed and posted by May 1, 2008.

[Proposal deadline extended: December 15, 2007 | Only one proposal may be submitted (one-page abstract & brief CV) to the Area Chair]

American Culture

American History and Culture
American Humor and Will Rogers (Co-Chairs)

Kelli Shapiro
Brown U.
Dept. of American Civilization

Kelli_Shapiro@brown.edu

Peter C. Rollins, Co-Chair
Ridgemont Media
RR 3 Box 80
Cleveland, OK 74020

RollinsPC@aol.com

Steve Gragert, Co-Chair
Will Rogers Memorial
PO Box 157
Claremore, OK 74017

skgragert@willrogers.com

American Studies
Atomic Culture in the Nuclear Age
California Culture

Paul D. Reich
Rollins College
English Dept.
1000 Holt Avenue - 2666
Winter Park, FL 32789

Phone: 407.691.1273
preich@rollins.edu

Scott Zeman
New Mexico Tech.
Humanities Dept.
801 Leroy Place
Socorro, NM 87801

Phone: 505.835.5628
Fax: 505.835.5544
szeman@nmt.edu

Monica Ganas
Azusa Pacific U.
Dept. of Communications Studies
PO Box 7000
Azusa, CA 91702-7000

Phone: 626.815.6000 ext 3497
Mganas@apu.edu

Integral Studies
Interdisciplinary Studies
Motorcycle Life and Culture

Daniel Gustav Anderson
George Mason U.
Cultural Studies
MSN 5E4
Fairfax, VA 22030-4444

dander5@gmu.edu

 

William Housel
Northwestern Louisiana State U.
School of Social Sciences
Natchitoches, LA 71497

houselw@nsula.edu

Paul Nagy
Clovis Community College
English Dept.
417 Schepps Blvd
Clovis, NM 88101

Phone: 505.769.4908
Fax: 505.769.4190
nagyp@clovis.edu

Oklahoma
Politics
Religion

Bridget Roussell Cowlishaw
Northeastern State U.
Dept. of Languages & Literatue
609 N. Grand
Tahlequah, OK 74464

cowlisha@nsuok.edu

Leah A. Murray
Weber State U.
Political Science and Philosophy
1203 University Circle
Ogden, UT 84408-1203

Phone: 801.626.6695
lmurray@weber.edu

Wes Bergen
Wichita State U.
Dept. of Religion
Wichita, KS 67260-0076

Phone: 316.283.0369
wesley.bergen@wichita.edu

Senior Culture
Visual Arts of the West
 

Ken Dvorak
San Jacinto College

kendvorak@comcast.net

Please send proposals to pcaacaswtx@sbcglobal.net

 

 
Return to list of areas

Computers, the Internet, & Technical Writing

Computer Culture (Co-Chairs)
Distributive Learning and the Internet Classroom

Joseph Chaney, Co-Chair
Indiana U. South Bend
Dept. of English
Box 7111
South Bend, IN 46634-7111

Phone: 574.520.4870
Fax: 574.520.4538
jchaney@iusb.edu

Judd Ruggill, Co-Chair
U. of Arizona
Dept. of Media Arts
Tucson, AZ 85721

Phone: 520.621.7352
jruggill@gmail.com

Debopriyo Roy
U. of North Texas
Dept. of English
Auditorium Building, 303
P.O. Box 311307
Denton, TX 76203-1307

Phone: 940.565.2131
Fax: 940.565.4355
droyusa@yahoo.com

Technical Communications
   

Lacy Landrum
Oklahoma State U.
Dept. of English

lacylandrum@yahoo.com

   
Return to list of areas

Ethnicity

Africana Studies
American Indian/Indigenous Film
American Indians Today

Delia C. Gillis
U. of Central Missouri
Dept. of History & Anthropology
WOOD 136J
Warrensburg, MO 64093

Phone: 660.543.8726
dgillis@ucmo.edu

M. Elise Marubbio
Augsburg College
CB 115
2211 Riverside Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55454

Phone: 612.330.1523
marubbio@augsburg.edu

Richard Allen
Cherokee Nation
P.O. Box 948
Tahlequah, OK 74465

Phone: 918.453.5456
rallen@cherokee.org

Arab Culture in the U.S.
The Asian American Experience
Buddhism in America
Lutfi M. Hussein
Mesa Community College
Dept. of English, Humanities, & Journalism
1833 W. Southern Ave
Mesa, AZ 85202

Phone: 480.461.7367
Fax: 480.461.7644
lutfi_hussein@yahoo.com

Sherman Han
Brigham Young U.-Hawaii
Dept. of English
55-220 Kulanui St.
Laie, HI 96762

Phone: 808.293.3633
hans@byuh.edu

Daniel Gustav Anderson
George Mason U.
Cultural Studies
MSN 5E4
Fairfax, VA 22030-4444

dander5@gmu.edu

Chicano/a Literature, Film, and Culture
Native Americans (Co-Chairs)

Jeanette Sanchez
U. of Washington
School of Drama
Box 353950
Seattle, WA 98195

Phone: 206.543.5245
jeannie8@u.washington.edu

Sara C. Sutler-Cohen, Co-Chair
Bellevue Community College
Dept. of Sociology
300 Landerholm Circle SE
Bellevue, WA 98007

sara.sutlercohen@gmail.com

L. Rain Cranford, Co-Chair
Michigan State U.
American Studies Dept.

cranfor6@msu.edu

Return to list of areas

Gender & Technology

Gender & Technology (Co-Chairs)
 

Brian Still, Co-Chair
Texas Tech U.
English Dept.
PO Box 43091
Lubbock, TX 79409

Phone: 806.742.2500 ext 267
brian.still@ttu.edu

Amy Koerber, Co-Chair
Texas Tech U.
English Dept.

amy.koerber@ttu.edu

 
Return to list of areas

Film, Television, & Radio

Classical Representations in Popular Culture
Film Adaptation (Co-Chairs)

Kirsten Day
Augustana College
Classic Dept.
127 Old Main
Rock Island, IL 61201

Phone: 309.794.7240
kirstenday@yahoo.com

Lynnea Chapman King, Co-Chair
Butler Community College
1810 N. Andover Rd.
Andover, KS 67002

Phone: 316.733.0071 ext 6284
filmswtx@hotmail.com

Andrew Tash, Co-Chair

Phone: 316.304.2870
filmswtx@hotmail.com

Film Archive and Cultural Heritage
Film and History (Co-Chairs)

Janna Jones
Northern Arizona U.
School of Communication
PO Box 5619
Flagstaff, AZ 86011-5619

Phone: 928.523.3596
janna.jones@nau.edu

Tobias Hochscherf, Co-Chair
Northumbria U.
School of Social Sciences
Lipman Building, #226
NE1 8St Newcastle upon Tyne
United Kingdom

tobias.hochscherf@northumbria.ac.uk

Christoph Laucht, Co-Chair
U. of Liverpool
School of Modern Languages
Chatam Street
Liverpool, L697ZR
United Kingdom

c.laucht@liverpool.ac.uk

Hitchcock
Local Film Exhibition & Theatre
Preservation
Media and Globalization

Jason Landrum
Southeastern Louisiana U.
Dept. of English
SLU 10861
Hammond, LA 70402

landrumjr@yahoo.com

Deborah Carmichael
Oklahoma State U.
Dept. of English
205 Morrill Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078

debcar6569@aol.com

Carlos Salinas
The U. of Texas - El Paso

Phone: 915.747.6257
cdsalinas@utep.edu

Reality Television
Shakespeare on Film and Television
Silent Film

James Bell
College of the Ozarks
Dept. of English
Point Lookout, MO 65726

Phone: 417.334.6411 ext. 4263
bell@cofo.edu

Richard Vela
U. of North Carolina at Pembroke
English, Theatre, & Language Dept.
Pembroke, NC 28372

Phone: 910.521.6600
richard.vela@uncp.edu

Robert G. Weiner
Mahon Library
P.O Box 53841
Lubbock, TX 79453

Phone: 806.780.8775
rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Television
Westerns: Film and Fiction
 

James Knecht
Oklahoma State U.
Dept. of English
205 Morrill Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078

james.knecht@okstate.edu

Paul Varner
Oklahoma Christian U.
Dept. of Language and Literature
P.O. Box 11000
Oklahoma City, OK 73136

Phone: 405.425.5333
paul.varner@oc.edu

 
Return to list of areas

Human Relations

The Culture of Fandom
Gender
International Experience: Latin American Studies

Gregory J. Thompson
pcaacaswtx@sbcglobal.net

Gypsey Teague
Clemson U.
Gunnin Architecture Library

gteague@clemson.edu

Cida Chase
Oklahoma State U.
Dept. of Foreign Languages
Stillwater, OK 74078

Phone: 405.744.5825
Fax: 405.744.5733
csc1937@okstate.edu

Women's Studies
   
Pat Tyrer
West Texas A&M U.
Dept. of English and Modern Languages
Box 60908
Canyon, TX 79016-0001

ptyrer@mail.wtamu.edu

   
Return to list of areas

Libraries, Archives, Museums, & Popular Culture

 
Libraries, Archives, Museums, and Popular Culture (Co-Chairs)
 

Janet Brennan Croft, Co-Chair
Head of Access Services
U. of Oklahoma Libraries
Bizzell 104NW
Norman, OK 73019

Phone: 405.325.1918
Fax: 405.325.7618
jbcroft@ou.edu

Rhonda Taylor, Co-Chair
U. of Oklahoma
401 West Brooks, Room 120
Norman, OK 73019-6032

Phone: 405.325.3921
Fax: 405.325.7648
rtaylor@ou.edu

 
Return to list of areas

Literature

Beats and Counterculture
Biography, Autobiography, Memoir, and Personal Narrative
Captivity Narratives

Gordon J. Marshall
Halic U.
American Culture and Literature
Ahmet Vefik Pasa Cad. No: 1
Findikzade 34270
Istanbul Turkey

gordonmarshall@halic.edu.tr

Melinda McBee
Grayson County College
1212 Mistywood Lane
Denton, TX 76209-1138

Phone: 940.442.5340
mcbee58@verizon.net

Deborah Carmichael
Oklahoma State U.
Dept. of English
205 Morrill Hall
Stillwater, OK 74078

debcar6569@aol.com

Central and East European Popular Culture
Children and Young Adult Literature and Culture
Comics and Popular Culture

Jack Hutchens
U. of Illinois
Dept. of Comparative Literature
Urbana, IL 61801

Phone: 217.333.4987
jackhutchens@yahoo.com

Diana Dominguez
UT-Brownsville/Texas Southmost College
80 Fort Brown
Brownsville, TX 78520

Phone: 956.544.8853
gypsyscholar@rgv.rr.com

Robert G. Weiner
Mahon Library
PO Box 53841
Lubbock, TX 79453

Phone: 806.780.8775
rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

Creative Writing (Poetry, Fiction)
Creative Writing Pedagogy
Eco-Criticism and the Environment

Jerry Bradley
Lamar U.
College of Graduate Studies
Box 10078
Beaumont, TX 77710

Phone: 409.880.1721
Fax: 409.880.1723
jerry.bradley@lamar.edu

Philip Heldrich
U. of Washington - Tacoma
Interdisciplinary Arts & Science
1900 Commerce Street - Box 358436
Tacoma, WA 98402-3100

Phone: 253.692.4450
Fax: 253.692.5718
pheldrich@sbcglobal.net

Ken Hada
East Central U.
Dept. of English & Languages
1100 E. 14th Street
Ada, OK 74820

Phone: 580.310.5557
khada@mailclerk.ecok.edu

Experimental Writing and Aesthetics
Folklore Studies
Historical Fiction
Hugh Tribbey
East Central U.
329B Horace Mann
Ada, OK 74820

Phone: 580.559.5524
htribbey@ecok.edu

Phyllis Bridges
Texas Women's U.
Denton, TX 76204

Phone: 940.898.2345
pbri41@msn.com

Cristine Soliz
Diné College at Tuba City
Humanities Division
P.O. Box 1716
Tuba City, AZ 86045

Phone: 928.283.5113
Fax: 928.283.5350
csoliz@csoliz.com
csoliz@dinecollege.edu

Horror (Literary and Cinematic)
Linguistics
Mystery/Detective Fiction

Steffen Hantke
Sogang U.
Dept. of English
CPO Box 1142
Seoul 100-611
Rep. of Korea

steffenhantke@hotmail.com

Nancy Mae Antrim
Sul Ross State U.
Dept. of Languages and Literature
Alpine, TX 79832

Phone: 432.837.8152
nantrim@sulross.edu

Linda Strahan
U. of California - Riverside
Dept. of English
Riverside, CA 92521-0323

Fax: 909.787.3967
lstrahan@ucr.edu

Myth & Fairy Tales
Postmodern Studies
Romance Fiction

S. Melissa Morphew
Sam Houston State U.
Dept. of English
Huntsville, TX 77341

Phone: 936.294.1944
eng_smm@shsu.edu

Lynnea Chapman King
Butler Community College
1810 N. Andover Road
Andover, KS 67002

Phone: 316.733.0071 ext 6284
lynneaking@hotmail.com

Cheryl Wiltse
Collin County Community College
Preston Ridge Campus
Communication & Humanities Dept.
9700 Wade Blvd., Founder's Hall #238
Frisco, TX 75035

Phone: 972.377.1546
UdonLover@aol.com

Science Fiction and Fantasy (Co-Chairs)

Ximena Gallardo, Co-Chair
FH LaGuardia Community College
English, Room E103
CUNY 31-10 Thomas Avenue
Long Island City, NY 11101

ximena_gallardo_c@yahoo.com

Alyson Buckman, Co-Chair
California State U.
Dept. of Humanities & Religious Studies
6000 J Street
Sacramento, CA 95819-6083

Phone: 916.278.5335
abuckman@csus.edu

C. Jason Smith, Co-Chair
FH LaGuardia Community College
English, Room E103
CUNY 31-10 Thomas Avenue
Long Island City, NY 11101

jsmith@lagcc.cuny.edu

Southwestern Literature
Theatre Studies
True Crime

Steve Davis
Texas State U. - San Marcos
San Marcos, TX 78666

sdavis@txstate.edu

Dallas Jeffers-Pollei
Liberal Arts Division

Phone: 505.624.7017
dallas.pollei@roswell.enmu.edu

Jim Yates
Northwestern Oklahoma State U.
Dept. of English, Foreign Languages, & Humanities
210 Vinson Hall Box 242
709 Oklahoma Blvd.
Alva, OK 73717

Phone: 580.327.8469
jnyates@nwosu.edu

Return to list of areas

Material Culture

Collecting, Collectibles, Collectors, Collections
Food and Culture (Co-Chairs)

Elizabeth Festa
Office of the Dean of Undergraduates
MS 6
PO Box 1892
Houston, TX 77251

elizabeth.a.festa@rice.edu

Lynn Houston, Co-Chair
California State U.
English Dept.
Chico, CA 95929-0830

lmhouston@csuchico.edu

Melissa Salazar, Co-Chair
U. of California
School of Education
One Shields Ave
Davis, CA 95616

Phone: 916.833.1240
mlsalazar@ucdavis.edu


Return to list of areas

Music

Grateful Dead (Co-Chairs)
Music and Politics

Nicholas Meriwether, Co-Chair
U. of South Carolina
South Caroliniana Library
Columbia, SC 29208

Phone: 803.777.3133
meriwetN@gwm.sc.edu

Stan Spector, Co-Chair
Modesto College
535 College Ave
Modesto, CA 95350

spectors@mjc.edu

Christopher Smith
Texas Tech U.
Vernacular Music Center
School of Music—Box 2003
Lubbock, TX 79409

Phone: 806.742.2270 ext 249
Fax: 806.742.2290
christopher.smith@ttu.edu

Music and Tradition
Popular Music
Rap and Hip-Hop Culture

Christopher Smith
Texas Tech U.
Vernacular Music Center
School of Music—Box 2003
Lubbock, TX 79409

Phone: 806.742.2270 ext 249
Fax: 806.742.2290
christopher.smith@ttu.edu

Mathew Haskins
California State U.—Fullerton
American Studies Dept.
800 N. State College Blvd. UH-313
Fullerton, CA 92831

Phone: 949.499.7667
mhaskins@fullerton.edu

Brian McNely
U. of Texas—El Paso
11136 Loma Roja Dr.
El Paso, TX 79934

Phone: 915.351.9700
Fax: 915.351.9705
brianmcnely@hotmail.com

Return to list of areas

Special Topics

Chick Lit
Girlhood Studies
James Bond and Popular Culture
Amy Lerman
Mesa Community College
English Dept.
1833 W. Southern Ave.
Mesa, AZ 85202

Phone: 480.461.7362
alerman@mail.mc.maricopa.edu

Abby Heller

Phone: 832.259.3039
abigailheller@yahoo.com
abigail.a.heller@nhmccd.edu

Robert G. Weiner
Mahon Library
P.O Box 53841
Lubbock, TX 79453

Phone: 806.780.8775
rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

The New Age Movement in Popular Culture
Philosophy and Popular Culture
Science & Medicine in Popular Culture

Marla K. Roberson
Tri-County Technical College
PO Box 587
Pendleton, CA 29670

Phone: 864.646.1753
mkroberson@gmail.com

Burcu Gurkan
Halic U.

burcugurkan@halic.edu.tr
ebgurkan@gmail.com

Lynn Houston
California State U.
English Dept.
Chico, CA 95929-0830

lmhouston@csuchico.edu

Transgressive/Exploitation Cinema
 
 
Robert G. Weiner
Mahon Library
P.O Box 53841
Lubbock, TX 79453

Phone: 806.780.8775
rweiner5@sbcglobal.net

   
Return to list of areas

Teaching and the Profession

Pedagogies and the Profession
Popular Culture and the Classroom
Undergraduate Research

Gene Mueller
Texas A&M - Texarkana
Dept. of History
Texarkana, TX 75505

Phone: 903.223.3136
gene.mueller@tamut.edu

Erik Walker
Plymouth South High School
Dept. of English & Journalism
490 Long Pond Rd.
Plymouth, MA 02360

Phone: 508.224.7512
Fax: 508.224.6765
ErikMWalker@aol.com

Raymond A. Hall
U. of Tennessee
Africana Studies
1207 McClung Tower
Knoxville, TN 37996

Phone: 865.974.5052
Rhall11@utk.edu

Return to list of areas

War & War Eras

World War II, Korea, and Vietnam Wars
   
Brad L. Duren
Oklahoma Panhandle State U.
Dept. of Behavioral and Social Sciences
213 Hamilton Hall
P.O. Box 430
Goodwell, OK 73939

Phone: 580.349.1498
uriahok@yahoo.com
   
Return to list of areas

Home | About Us | Areas | Registration | Travel | Program | Awards | Contact