General Information

The Business History Conference annual meeting will take place March 21–23, 2013, at the Hyatt Regency Columbus hotel in Columbus, Ohio. Rooms are an extremely reasonable $134 single and double occupancy at this very nice hotel, located in downtown Columbus. Our room bloc, and special rate, expire February 27; please make your reservations before then, using the BHC's reservation page (see our Lodging section), as we are likely to fill up the hotel.

The theme of the annual meeting is “The Cultures and Institutions of Business.” The BHC Program Committee for 2013 consists of: Kolleen Guy (chair), University of Texas, San Antonio; Morris Bian, Auburn University; Julia Ott, The New School; Susie Pak, St. John's University; and Kenneth Lipartito (BHC president-elect), Florida International University. Local arrangements are being handled by William Childs and Joseph Arena, both of the Ohio State University. The preliminary program has now been posted.

Registration for the meeting is now open; please follow the "Registration" link to the right to access the registration site at Eventbrite. Conference registration is discounted for members, and it is free for student BHC members. Registrants should therefore be sure of their membership status before registering for the meeting. Non-BHC members can join by going to, where they will find instructions for both on-line and paper processes. For those already BHC members, separate membership renewal notices are sent on a quarterly basis; those who have not yet received such a notice are current in their membership.

On Thursday afternoon the BHC will offer two workshop opportunities for attendees. From 1:30 to 3:00 p.m., Marc Levinson and Stephen Mihm will offer a session, "The Financial Crisis of 2008-2013: A Historical Perspective." It will examine some of the historical roots of the crises that have shaken the world economy over the past five years. From 3:15 to 5:00 pm, a panel of BHC regulars will offer a workshop called "Business Historians in the Wild: Finding a Job Beyond the Economics/History Department." Panelists will include Jennifer Armiger (Educational Testing Service), Dalit Baranoff (Proquest), Teresa da Silva Lopes (University of York Management School), and Josh Lauer (Department of Communication, University of New Hampshire). They will provide audience members with their experiences in finding jobs inside and outside the university. Enrollment for each workshop is limited to 25; register for either or both on the conference registration form.

The opening plenary will take place at 7 p.m. on Thursday. Organized around the theme of "Business and the Good Society," speakers include Louis Galambos (Johns Hopkins), Jennifer Klein (Yale), and Simon Johnson (MIT). In their remarks, they will each consider the central question animating the panel, how private interests do, or do not, serve the larger social good. The conference then continues all day Friday and Saturday with a jam-packed schedule of 56 parallel sessions, the annual Herman E. Krooss dissertation plenary, and Kenneth Lipartito's presidential address. The Friday evening Presidential Reception will take place at the dock 580, an event space located in a historic hardware building.

Paper presenters, including those in the Krooss Prize session, are reminded that they need to send an abstract of their papers for posting on the meeting website. These are not the abstracts submitted as part of the proposal process, but rather a short, c. 200-word paragraph about the main point(s) of the paper. Abstracts can most easily be submitted through the abstract submission form (linked from the navigation menu) or by sending the abstract as an email to Pat Denault. Abstracts will be accepted until shortly before the meeting, but we hope to have them all posted by March 1. Papers may also be sent as email attachments to Pat for posting.

Please check the meeting website regularly; we will update these pages frequently as more information becomes available.