Politics & History

Award Recipients, Nomination and Committee Members

J. David Greenstone Awards and Committees:

2007 Award to: Istvan Hont, Jealousy of Trade: International Competition and the Nation-State in Historical Perspective (Harvard University Press, 2005).

Honorable Mention to Marie Gottschalk, The Prison and the Gallows: The Politics of Mass Incarceration in America (Cambridge University Press)
Istvan Hont, Jealousy of Trade: International Competition and the Nation-State in Historical Perspective (Harvard University Press)
Stathis Kalyvas, The Logic of Violence in Civil War (Cambridge University Press)
Nancy Maclean, (Northwestern University) Freedom is Not Enough: The Opening of the American Workplace (Harvard University Press)
Hendrik Spruyt, (Northwestern University) Ending Empire: Contested Sovereignty and Territorial Partition (Cornell University Press)

Committee: Jeff Tulis (Chair), Alyson Cole, Ellen Immergut


2006 Award to: Suzanne Mettler, Soldiers to Citizens: The G.I. Bill and the Making of the Greatest Generation (Oxford University Press, 2005) and

and Ken I. Kersch, Constructing Civil Liberties: Discontinuities in the Development of American Constitutional Law (Cambridge University Press, 2004).

Committee: Carol Nackenoff (chair), Peter Trubowitz, R. Shep Melnick.


2005 Award to: Richard M. Valelly, The Two Reconstructions: The Struggle for Black Enfranchisement (University of Chicago Press, 2004)

Honorable Mention to: Kathleen Thelen, How Institutions Evolve:
The Political Economy of Skills in Germany, Britain, the United States, and Japan
(Cambridge University Press, 2004)
Committee: Howard Gillman (chair), Alberta Sbragia, Eric Schickler


2004 Award to: Theda Skocpol for Diminished Democracy: From Membership to Management in American Civic Life (University of Oklahoma Press, 2003),
and S.M. Amadae, Rationalizing Capitalist Democracy: The Cold War Origins of Rational Choice Liberalism (University of Chicago Press, 2003)

Committee: Richard Harris (chair), Scott James, Alison Stanger


2003 Award to: Mounira Charrad for States and Women's Rights: The Making of Post-Colonial Tunisia, Algeria and Morocco (University of California Press, 2002)
and to Taeku Lee, Mobilizing Public Opinion: Black Insurgency and Racial Attitudes in the Civil Rights Era (Chicago University Press, 2002)
Committee: Sven Steinmo (chair), Gerald Berk, Sheri Berman


2002 Award to: Richard Franklin Bensel, The Political Economy of American Industrialization, 1877-1900

Committee: David Vogel, Andrew Polsky, Kimberly Morgan


2001 Award to: Uday Singh Mehta,  Liberalism and Empire: A Study in Nineteenth-Century British Liberal Thought

 Committee: Victoria Hattam, Gretchen Ritter, Gary Herrigel


2000 Award to: Elizabeth Sanders, Farmers, Workers, and the American State, 1877-1917

Committee: Suzanne Mettler, Rogan Kersh, and Anne Norton


1999 Award to: Peter Trubowitz, Defining the National Interest: Conflict and Change in American Foreign Policy

Committee: Sid Milkis, David Vogel, Jennifer Hochschild


1998 Award to: Rogers Smith, Civic Ideals, and Mabel Berezin, Making the Fascist Self Committee: James Morone, Gwendolyn Mink, Lawrence Jacobs


1997 Award to: Stathis Kalyvas, The Rise of Christian Democracy in Europe

Committee: Deborah Stone, Ian Lustick, Andrew Polsky, Hendrick Spruyt


1996 Award to: Hendrick Spruyt, The Sovereign State and Its Competitors

Committee: Richard Bensel, Jeffrey Tulis, Larry Dodd


1995 Award to: Ian Lustick, Unsettled States, Disputed Lands, and Gerald Berk Alternative Tracks

Committee: David Vogel, Amy Bridges, Andrew Polsky


1994 Award to: Stephen Skowronek, The Politics Presidents Make

Committee: Elizabeth Sanders, John Coleman, Kenneth Finegold


1993 Award to: Theda Skocpol, Protecting Soldiers and Mothers and Karen Orren, Belated Feudalism

Committee: Andrei Markovits, Anne Norton, Robert Shapiro





Mary Parker Follett Awards and Committees



2007 Award to: Fredrick Harris of Columbia University for "It Takes a Tragedy to Arouse Them: Collective Memory and Collective Action During the Civil Rights Movement," Social Movement Studies 5 (May 2006)
and Cora Goldstein, "Before the CIA: American Actions in the German Fine Arts (1946-1949)," Diplomatic History 29 (November 2005).

Committee: Robert Vitalis (Chair), Catherine Holland, Nancy Wadsworth.


2006 Award to: David Brian Robertson, "Madison's Opponents and Constitutional Design," American Political Science Review 99 (May 2005)>

Committee: Peter Swenson (Chair), Gretchen Ritter, Adam Sheingate.


2005 Award to: Peter A. Swenson, "Varieties of Capitalist Interests: Power, Institutions, and the Regulatory Welfare State in the United States and Sweden," Studies in American Political Development 18 (Spring 2004).

Committee: Sarah Binder, Herman Schwartz, Mabel Berezin


2004 Award to: Paul Frymer, "Acting When Elected Officials Won't: Federal Courts and Civil Rights Enforcement in U.S. Labor Unions, 1935-85,"
American Political Science Review
(August 2003)

Committee: Gerard Alexander (chair), Keith Whittington, Rose Resakhian


2003 Award to: Daniel J. Tichenor and Richard A. Harris for “Organized Interests and American Political Development,” Political Science Quarterly 117:4, 2002-2003

Committee: John Gerring (chair), Consuelo Cruz, Howard Reiter


2002 Award to: “Causal Inference in Historical Institutional Analysis: A Specification of Periodization Strategies” Comparative Political Studies 34: 9 (November, 2001)

Committee: Christopher Howard, Char Miller, Marcus Kreuzer


2001 Award to: Jeffrey Jenkins, "Examining the Robustness of Ideological Voting: Evidence from the Confederate House of Representatives" American Journal of Political Science (44:8)

Committee: Charles Stewart, Anna Harvey, Keith Whittington.


2000 Award to: Eileen McDonagh, "Race, Class, and Gender in the Progressive Era: Restructuring State and Society" and
to Frank Dobbin and Erin Kelly, "Civil Rights Law at Work: Sex Discrimination and the Rise of Maternity Leave Policies"

Committee: Marie Gottschalk, Mabel Berezin, Daniel Tichenor


1999 Award to: Barry Weingast, "Political Stability and Civil War: Institutions, Commitment, and Democracy"
Committee: Rick Valelly, Martin Shefter, Ronald Rogowski


1998 Award to: Sarah Hanley, "Social Sites of Political Practice in France"
Committee: David Plotke, Gretchen Ritter, Gerald Gamm


1997 Award to: Hugh Heclo, "The Sixties' False Dawn"
Committee: Sid Milkis, John Coleman, Daniel Carpenter


1996 Award to: Daniel H. Deudney, "The Philadelphia System"
Committee: Richard Ellis, Mark Graber, Helene Silverberg


1995 Award to: David Laitin, Carlotta Solé, and Stathis Kalyvas "Language and the Construction of States"
Committee: Victoria Hattam, John Padgett, Margaret Weir


1994 Award to: Richard Vallely, "Party, Coercion, and Inclusion" and Charles Stewart III and Barry Weingast, "Stacking the Senate, Changing the Nation"
Committee: Eileen McDonagh, Carol Nackenoff, Bartholomew Sparrow






Page updated 4/02/08