NEW BERN, N.C. ó Nancy Packer, Tryon Palace Chief Curator, announces that a collection of historical documents highly significant to New Bern and North Carolina history and the early history of the Freemasons in America is now generally available for the first time.
This collection, on loan from the archives of St. Johnís Masonic Lodge of New Bern, marks the beginning of a new era of accessibility to an important historic collection of Masonic documents dating back to 1772. This collection sheds light on the purpose, organization and membership of this ancient fraternal organization. During its long history, members of St. Johnís Masonic Lodge in New Bern have included three governors of the State of North Carolina, four chief justices of the State Supreme Court and six members of the U.S. Congress, as well as more than 20 members of the colonial government, 70 members of the North Carolina legislature, and many civic and business leaders.
Previously the history of St. Johnís was only available in Gertrude S. Carrawayís two-volume compilation, Years of Light, first published in 1944 and appended in 1974. Now Tryon Palace and St. Johnís Lodge have collaborated to make the original documents available, by appointment, to researchers who want to further explore this fascinating facet of New Bern and North Carolina history.
The documents include original minute books dating to 1772, as well as lodge business records, old Bibles, letters, petitions for membership and other records dating back to the lodgeís earliest years.
The collection also contains several artifacts, including a silver plate and three coins that were placed in the 1801 cornerstone of the St. John's Temple building. The plate and coins were stolen by Union soldiers during the Civil War occupation but were returned to St. John's in 1876 by a lodge of the same name -- St. John's, in Providence, R.I. Another important artifact is a copper template used to print elaborate membership certificates for lodge members, which members carried with them on their travels to prove their Masonic affiliation. A number of the letters in the lodge records bear testament to the social value of lodge membership in the 19th century, as brothers in far-off places, having lost their certificates, would write to the lodge for a replacement in order to help them gain assistance or employment. The copper template also was stolen during the Union occupation of New Bern but was returned in the 1990s by a lodge in New York.
In addition to regular lodge business, these records also help tell the story of one of the most important buildings in New Bern -- the St. John's Lodge/Scottish Rite Temple on Hancock Street. For some time prior to the destruction of Tryon Palace by fire in 1798, St. John's Lodge meetings were held at the Palace, as well as special meetings of the Grand Lodge like the 1792 grand master initiation of William R. Davie (later governor of North Carolina). After the Palace burned, New Bern was left without a large gathering place and St. John's without a permanent home. Almost immediately plans were begun for the construction of a grand new building. In 1801 the cornerstone for the new St. John's Masonic Temple building was placed and by 1805, the bottom half theater portion was complete and leased out for theatrical productions. When the Masonic Theater finally closed in the 1970s, it was among the oldest continuously-operated theaters in the United States. It has more recently been restored and is currently in use.
For more information on the St. Johnís Lodge archive, contact Kyna Herzinger at 252-639-3537.
Tryon Palace, located in New Bern, N.C., is part of the Office of Archives and History, an agency of the North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources. Tryon Palaceís mission is to engage present and future generations in the history of North Carolina from early settlement in 1710, the development of statehood and into the mid-twentieth century. It is dedicated to collecting, interpreting and preserving objects, buildings, landscapes and events that enrich understanding of the making of our state and nation. The North Carolina History Center complements and enhances this mission and revolutionizes the visitor experience through the use of the latest in interactive mobile technology, putting a personal navigator, guide and reference librarian at each visitorís fingertips at the History Center and throughout the Tryon Palace landscape and gardens.
Main entry to Tryon Palace is North Carolina History Center at Tryon Palace, 529 S. Front St., New Bern. Tickets and visitor information are available there at the Ticket Desk located at the History Center entrance. Visitor information is also available at the Tryon Palace Way Station, corner of George and Pollock streets in New Bern. For directions and further information about special events, programs or group tours, employment and more, visit the Web site at http://www.tryonpalace.org or call (800) 767-1560 or (252) 639-3500.
Send comments and questions to H-Net
Webstaff. H-Net reproduces announcements that have been submitted to us as a
free service to the academic community. If you are interested in an announcement
listed here, please contact the organizers or patrons directly. Though we strive
to provide accurate information, H-Net cannot accept responsibility for the text of
announcements appearing in this service. (Administration)