H-Net about    search    site map    editors    donate    contact    help
navbar
Discussion Networks Reviews Job Guide Announcements

"Multiple Voices/Multiple Narratives: Historical Methods and Undergraduate Education in the Digital Age"

Session Abstract:

Historical Methods courses are at both the one constant in all undergraduate history majors' educational experiences and often the most varied. Frequently revised, these courses aim to be responsive to larger changes in the historical profession. The pape rs in this session focus on ways that digital technologies can be integrated into undergraduate historical methods courses. Emphasizing the ways that online resources both challenge traditional historical narratives, open potential fields for new voices, but at the same time bear much in common to the primary resources historians have been using for decades, the papers in this session will address the challenges of teaching Historical Methods in the Digital Age. Drawn from a range of institutions and disc iplines -- from Early Modern Europe to Africa to the Contemporary United States -- the presenters will provide useful models and evaluate their classroom experiences. Contact Information: Gustav L. Seligmann Gus@unt.edu Dept. of History University of North Texas P.O. Box 310650 Denton, TX 76203-0650 Phone: (940)565-3399 Fax: (817)387-8142 Melvin E. Page and Penny M. Sonnenburg Africa@access.etsu.edu and sonnenburg@prodigy.net Dept. of History East Tennessee State University P.O. Box 5064 Cookeville, TN 38505 Phone: (423)439-6802 Jacquelyn Kent Jkent@fgcu.edu Dept. of History Florida Gulf Coast University 10501 FGCU Blvd, South Ft. Meyers, FL 33965-6565 Phone: (941)590-7209 Michael J. Galgano Galganmj@jmu.edu Dept. of History James Madison University MSC 2001 Harrisonburg, VA 22807 Phone: (540)568-6132 Fax: (540)568-6556 Peter Field Psfield@tntech.edu Dept. of History Tennessee Technological University Cookeville, TN 38505 Phone: (931)372-3339